Fonds wet-107 - Alberta Social Credit League. Wetaskiwin Constituency fonds
Results 1 to 10 of 237 Show all

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Alberta Social Credit League. Wetaskiwin Constituency fonds

General material designation

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

  • Source of title proper: Title based on contents of the fonds.

Level of description


Reference code

WET wet-107

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


Physical description area

Physical description

10 cm of textual records

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

Biographical history

The Alberta Social Credit League was formed in 1932 by Bill Aberhart and inspired by the speeches and writings of Major C.H. Douglas of Britain. Social Credit adherents believed that inefficient money management by government reduced the purchasing powers of the consumers and inhibited economic growth. The Alberta Social Credit League was led by radio evangelist William Aberhart and came to power in the 1935 provincial election. The Alberta Social Credit League remained in power through the next eight provincial elections before being defeated by the Alberta Conservative Party in 1971. The Wetaskiwin Constituency of the Social Credit League was established for 1935 provincial election and functioned as an organizing force for both federal and provincial elections. Wetaskiwin elected several Social Credit M.L.A.s and one M.P., Norman Jacques. The Wetaskiwin Constituency ceased operations sometime in the late 1970s or early 1980s.

Custodial history

Acquired from Vina Thorn in 1999. Mrs. Thorne's husband Frank Thorne was a long time and devoted member of the Wetaskiwin Constituency of the Alberta Social Credit League. Mr. Thorne died in 1980.

Scope and content

The fonds consists of materials created by the Wetaskiwin Constituency of the Alberta Social Credit League from 1935- 1948. Fonds consists of newspaper clippings, constituency correspondence with M.L.A.'s and M.P.s, constituency maps and polling information, and other materials related to the operation of the constituency office.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

  • The material is in English.

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

No restrictions on access.

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Preliminary inventory available in accession register.

Associated materials

Related materials


General note

The City of Wetaskiwin Archives holds the records of the Offerdale Group of the Alberta Social Credit Party. Offerdale is a region to the northeast of Wetaskiwin and is a part of the federal riding. Glenbow Archives also has records donated by Frank Thorn and related to the Wetaskiwin Constituency of the Alberta Social Credit League.<br><br>Record No. 99.9<br><br>

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions

Level of detail

Language of description

Script of description


Accession area

Related subjects

Related places

Related genres