Alberta Social Credit League. Wetaskiwin Constituency

Identity area

Type of entity

Authorized form of name

Alberta Social Credit League. Wetaskiwin Constituency

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


The Alberta Social Credit League was formed in 1932 by Bill Aberhart and inspired by the speeches and writings of Major C.H. Douglas of Britain. Social Credit adherents believed that inefficient money management by government reduced the purchasing powers of the consumers and inhibited economic growth. The Alberta Social Credit League was led by radio evangelist William Aberhart and came to power in the 1935 provincial election. The Alberta Social Credit League remained in power through the next eight provincial elections before being defeated by the Alberta Conservative Party in 1971. The Wetaskiwin Constituency of the Social Credit League was established for 1935 provincial election and functioned as an organizing force for both federal and provincial elections. Wetaskiwin elected several Social Credit M.L.A.s and one M.P., Norman Jacques. The Wetaskiwin Constituency ceased operations sometime in the late 1970s or early 1980s.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier


Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places