Fonds glen-51 - Alberta Liberal Association fonds

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Alberta Liberal Association fonds

General material designation

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

  • Source of title proper: Title based on contents of records.

Level of description


Reference code

GLEN glen-51

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


Physical description area

Physical description

5.7 m of textual records. -- 2 photographs. -- 9 audio reels. -- 16 audio discs.

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

Administrative history

The non-partisan electoral tradition in the North-West Territories ended in 1904, and candidates identified as Liberals were first elected in territorial elections that year. The Liberal Party formed the government of Alberta from 1905 to 1921. It has existed continuously under several variant names, and has served as the Loyal Opposition of the province during most of the twentieth century. In 1924 the Provincial Liberal Association of Alberta was created. By 1947 it was named the Alberta Liberal Association, and it organized political activities in both provincial and federal constituencies. It has also been known as the Liberal Association of Alberta. It was affiliated with the National Liberal Federation, and members were also automatically members of the federal party. By 1970 its name was changed to The Liberal Party in Alberta and the federal party was known as the Liberal Federation of Canada. In the mid-1970s the federal and provincial party organizations were separated due to changes in electoral and taxation laws. The provincial organizational division of the federal party was named the Liberal Party of Canada (Alberta), sometimes known as the Liberal Party of Canada in Alberta. Since the 1960s, the provincial party has been familiarly known as the Alberta Liberal Party or ALP. For further information see Liberals in Alberta : Studying the Lessons of History / James Fischer. -- Edmonton : unpublished M.A. thesis, University of Alberta, 1986.

Name of creator

Name of creator

Biographical history

Upon formation of the Province of Alberta in 1905, the provincial Liberal Party formed under the leadership of Alexander C. Rutherford. Since its inception, the Alberta Liberal Party has served in both minority and majority positions in the Alberta Legislature. Prior to 1977, the Liberal Party of Canada in Alberta (federal liberals) and the Alberta Liberal Party (provincial liberals) shared and managed both federal and provincial interests and operated under several names including, the Liberal Party in Alberta, the Provincial Liberal Association, and the Liberal Association of Alberta. In 1977, after changes in electoral and taxation laws, the party separated and the provincial liberals became known as the Alberta Liberal Party while the federal liberals became known as the Liberal Party of Canada in Alberta. Leaders of the Alberta Liberal Party include:;Alexander C. Rutherford (1905-1910);Arthur L. Sifton (1910-1917);Charles Stewart (1917-1922);John R. Boyle (1922-24);Charles R. Mitchell (1924-26);John C. Bowen (1926);Joseph Tweed Shaw (1926-30);Geogre H. Webster (1930-32);William R. Howson (1932-37);Edward Leslie Gray (1937-1940);James Harper Prowse (1948-1958);John Walter Grant MacEwan (1958-1960);David Hunter (1960-64);Michael Maccagno (1964-1966, 1966-69);Adrian Berry (1966);John T. Lowery (1969-70);Robert Russell (1971-1974);Nicholas Taylor (1974-1988);Laurence Decore (1988-1994);Bettie Hewes (1994) interim;Grant Mitchell (1994-1998);Nancy MacBeth (1998-2001);Ken Nicol (2001-2004);Don Massey (2004) interim;Kevin Taft (since 2004)

Custodial history

Scope and content

The fonds consists of correspondence, speeches (including radio broadcasts), electoral maps, scrapbooks and minutes. RECORDS RELATED TO THE FOLLOWING SUBJECTS ARE ALSO IN THIS FONDS. SEE INVENTORY FOR DETAILS: Douglas Abbott, William Aberhart, Rev. Edgar J. Bailey, Cecil R. Belleville, Owen Browne, Dr. Frank G. Buchanan, L.G. Casewell, Winston S. Churchill, Dr. Herbert Claxton, Harold H. Cush, Edwin Davidson, Dr. A.M. Day, John Decore, J. Romeo Desfosses, Laurette Carrigan Douglas, Paul Farnalls, J. Wilbur Freeland, James G. Gardiner, Daphne Garrison, Stuart T. Carson, Dag Hammerskjold, R.F.L. Hanna, Anthony Hlynka, John W. Hugill, R.D. Jorgenson, William Lyon Mackenzie King, John C. Landeryou, Peter John Lazarowich, R.S. Lee, Solon Low, Hugh John MacDonald, Grant MacEwan, Donald Mackay, James A. MacKinnon, Duncan K. MacTavish, Alfred Macyk, Fred Magera, Ernest C. Manning, Paul Martin, Charles Matthews, James Edgar Miller, E.F. "Bill" Morton, Carl O. Nickle, Lester B. Pearson, J.W. Pickersgill, F. M. Pritchard, J. Harper Prowse, Hon. George Prudham, Harold W. Riley, Elmer E. Roper, Louis St. Laurent, Edgar W. Schnell, I.F. Shacker, Social Credit Party, Arthur Soetaert, Spotlight (periodical), William John Stainton, Clyde Stauffer, Briant Williams Stringham, H.E. Tanner, Trans-Canada Highway, Louis Sherman Turcotte, J.W. Welbourn, Varno Westersund, and Robert Winters. RECORDS RELATED TO THE FOLLOWING CONSTITUENCIES ARE ALSO IN THIS FONDS. SEE INVENTORY FOR DETAILS: FEDERAL: Acadia, Athabasca, Bow River, Battle River-Camrose, Calgary North and East, Calgary South, Edmonton East, Edmonton-Strathcona, Edmonton West, Jasper-Edson, Lethbridge, Macleod, Medicine Hat, Peace River, Red Deer, Vegreville, Wetaskiwin. PROVINCIAL: Acadia-Coronation, Alexandra, Athabasca, Banff-Cochrane, Beaver River, Bow Valley-Empress, Bruce, Calgary, Camrose, Cardston, Clover Bar, Cypress, Didsbury, Drumheller, Edmonton, Edson, Gleichen, Grande Prairie, Grouard, and Olds.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition

Gifts of Liberal Association of Alberta , Riveredge Foundation, and Earl Hastings, 1959-1977.


Language of material

  • The material is in English.

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

No restrictions on access.

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids
Inventory available. Please consult before requesting material.

Associated materials

The Provincial Archives of Alberta have the post-1960 Liberal Association records. Some records of the Alberta Liberal Party (1969-1984) are included in the Irma and Frances Wright fonds at M 7537. The Glenbow Archives also holds records of the Liberal Party of Canada (Alberta).

Related materials


General note

Record No. M 1724;M 1726;M 1727;M 1729;NA 3410;RAD 6;RCT 916;RET 24<br><br>

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions

Level of detail

Language of description

Script of description


Accession area